University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



UC Women's Initiative for Professional Development


Women's Professional Development Initiative - 2018 UCR graduates

UC WI is an experiential professional development program for women designed to elevate women in leadership, establish a pipeline for advancement, and contribute to women’s and UC's success. UC WI is sponsored by the Systemwide Advisory Committee on the Status of Women (SACSW) and the UC Office of the President, and is delivered by CORO.  The program was awarded the 2018 Brandon Hall Group Gold Excellence Award for Best Advance in Women’s Leadership Development in 2018.

Nomination Process

Each year UC collaborates with CORO, a prestigious national non-profit leadership development organization, to provide two distinct systemwide development programs for UC faculty and staff – the UC Executive Leadership Collaborative, designed for direct reports to a Dean or Vice Chancellor, and the UC Women’s Initiative (UC WI), which is a targeted professional development program designed to prepare more women for advancement within UC. 

There will be a total of three southern California cohorts in 2019, taking place as follows:

  • Cohort 1:  January – March, at UCLA
  • Cohort 2:  April- June, at UCI
  • Cohort 3:  September – November, at UCR

The nomination process is now closed for the 2019 program. Please check back for the 2020 registration.

Participant Nomination Criteria

  • Mid-career women, both faculty and staff, who demonstrate the potential to advance in their careers at UC
  • Must have been in current position for at least one year
  • Performance in good standing
 
In addition, nominees should demonstrate:
  • Aspiration for advancement and growth
  • Evidence of ability to work collaboratively
  • Desire to make an active contribution to UC
  • Participants will be expected to compete pre-work and a pre-program survey prior to the first meeting of their assigned cohort, and to complete up to two hours of additional work between program sessions.

Application Process

  • Individuals may be nominated or may apply to participate in the program.
  • We anticipate that there will be many more applications than spaces available.
  • Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee and evaluated based on the criteria outlined above. 

Additional Information

  • Program fee of $1,925 per participant; 50% of the fee will be funded centrally by the campus
  • Three Southern California regional cohorts for 2019; each cohort will consist of 45 women from across Southern California locations
  • 4.5 days program per cohort
  • A single request for nominations to fill all three cohorts
  • Nominations require commitment and support by a nominating sponsor that the nominee will attend all sessions, additional project work sessions, and graduation.
 
If you have any questions regarding this program, please contact Jadie Lee at jadie.lee@ucr.edu.

2018 UCR Women's Initiative Graduates

Name
Title
Contact
Tara Brown

Assistant Director
Undergraduate Student Affairs
BCOE (Bourns College of Engineering)

(951) 827-2577
tara.brown@ucr.edu

Nicole Davis

Deputy Director
CE-CERT (College of Engineering - Center for Environmental Research and Technology)

(951) 781-5744
nicole.davis@ucr.edu

Cecilia Gonzalez

Director of Personnel HR/AP
Dean's Office - BCOE (Bourns College of Engineering)

(951) 827-5655
cecilia.gonzalez@ucr.edu

Ronnecia Hodges

Resident Accounts Manager
Housing Services

(951) 827-6350
ronnecia.hodges@ucr.edu

Karen Jordan

GIS Manager
Capital Asset Strategies

(951) 827-2787
karen.jordan@ucr.edu

Erika Leon

HR Business Partner
CHASS (College of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences)

(951) 827-3276
erika.leon@ucr.edu

Juliette Levy

Associate Professor
History

(951) 827-6492
juliette.levy@ucr.edu

Rhiannon Little

Student Organization Coordinator
Student Life

(951) 827-2449
rhiannon.little@ucr.edu

Amanda Lucia

Associate Professor
Religious Studies

(951) 827-2137
amanda.lucia@ucr.edu

Lisa Martin

Campus Emergency Manager
Enterprise Risk Management

(951) 827-4255
lisa.martin@ucr.edu

Margaret Nash

Professor
GSOE (Graduate School of Education)

(951) 827-2710
margaret.nash@ucr.edu

Tanya Nieri

Associate Professor
Sociology

(951) 827-5854
tanya.nieri@ucr.edu

Puja Pannu

Communication Lead
Human Resources

(951) 827-5076
puja.pannu@ucr.edu

Alissa Rackstraw

Finance and Budget Manager
Dean's Office - BCOE (Bourns College of Engineering)

(951) 827-6417
alissa.rackstraw@ucr.edu

Amy Ricks

Assistant Director
Enrollment Management Center &
Graduate Student Affairs Center
CNAS (College of Natural & Agricultural Sciences)

(951) 827-4435
amy.ricks@ucr.edu

Kyong Salmons

Senior Director, Budget & Finance
Auxiliary Services

(951) 827-1212
kyong.salmons@ucr.edu

Leslie Settle

Access Services Desk Coordinator
University Library

(951) 827-3220
leslie.settle@ucr.edu

Christina "Tina" Rodriguez

Benefits Lead
Human Resources

(951) 827-5086
tina.rodriguez@ucr.edu

Elizabeth Tisdale

Assistant Director
Enrollment Management Center &
Graduate Student Affairs Center
CNAS (College of Natural & Agricultural Sciences)

(951) 827-2512
elizabeth.tisdale@ucr.edu

Sureyya Tuncel

Sr. Server Technology Specialist
Student Affairs Technology Svc

(951) 827-1235
sureyya.tuncel@ucr.edu

Tanya Wine

Financial and Administrative Officer
Economics & Political Science Departments
CHASS (College of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences)

(951) 827-6102
tanya.wine@ucr.edu

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1201 University Ave., Suite 208
Riverside, CA 92507

Tel: (951) 827-5588
Fax: (951) 827-2672

Footer