University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



Home


Welcome: Building Careers, Achieving Excellence





HR Monthly Digest

 

Human Resources Fire Update

March 23, 2015

Since the Human Resources building was damaged by fire, our staff have been working in a number of locations across and around campus. Human Resources will be moving into the space soon to be vacated by Financial Services, where the HR units will once again be housed in close proximity to each other and to the campus. We are working to finalize our space plans and anticipate that our move will be completed within the next 6 weeks. In the meantime, all HR staff can be reached via phone or email.

 

Update: Anthem Data Breach

Anthem, Inc. has created a website (AnthemFacts.com or AnthemInforma.com for the Spanish-language version) to allow current and previous members impacted by the recent cyber attack on Anthem to enroll in two years of free credit monitoring and identity theft repair services.

Previous UC Anthem members (those enrolled during the last 10 years in the UC-sponsored Anthem Blue Cross PPO, PLUS, Lumenos, Core, the Medicare Core, PPO, and High Option plans, as well as UC Student Health plans administered by Anthem) with questions should visit Anthem’s website for more information. Anthem has also established a dedicated toll-free number for individuals to call if they have questions related to this incident. That number is (877)-263-7995. Phone lines will be open 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. PT Monday to Saturday.

Anthem had previously indicated that they would not be sending information to impacted members via e-mail. We have now received an update from Anthem indicating that members who have provided e-mail addresses to Anthem and have opted in to receive electronic communications may in fact receive an e-mail directing them to visit AnthemFacts.com to sign up for services. This e-mail, sent due to state notification requirements, is scheduled to be distributed the week of Feb. 16. The e-mail will not ask for personal information and will not contain a link to any websites other than AnthemFacts.com. Letters to impacted members via USPS are still planned for the coming weeks.

UCOP has also updated the information about this event on UCnet at http://ucnet.universityofcalifornia.edu/news/2015/02/important-information-for-former-anthem-members-about-recent-cyber-attack.html.

 

UC and Teamsters Settlement of Unfair Labor Practice Charges related to Counseling Memos containing Disciplinary Language

On January 28, 2015, the Teamsters and the UC entered into an agreement (attached) settling two unfair practice charges filed at other UC campuses involving counseling memos which allegedly contained “disciplinary” language. The settlement includes a thirty (30) day period (January 28 through February 27) for employees in the CX unit to request that counseling memos which contain language which they believe is disciplinary be amended to exclude such language.  

UC Policy and collective bargaining agreements for the vast majority of our represented staff specifically state that counseling memos are not discipline. Counseling memos are intended to document oral coaching and counseling provided by a supervisor in response to an employee’s poor conduct or performance.

It has been the consistent advice of UCR’s Human Resources that counseling memos not appear to be disciplinary actions. To this end, the UCR HR website includes a template (Counseling Memo - Sample Letter) for supervisors to use when issuing counseling memos. Notably, this template does not refer to the discipline/corrective action policy/contract provisions; does not characterize the action as ‘discipline’; and does not articulate disciplinary consequences for continued similar conduct/performance. As such, we do not anticipate there will be many requests for amendment to counseling memos on our campus.

We expect that employees may request to view their personnel files and may possibly request amendments to counseling memos contained therein. Any requests to amend counseling memos should be referred to Employee & Labor Relations.

Going forward, please ensure that counseling memos for all employees do not include disciplinary language. Employee & Labor Relations staff are available to review any such memos prior to issuance.

If you have any questions, please contact the Employee and Labor Relations Office at (951) 827-3641. Thank you.

 

Bargaining Bulletin: UC Reaches Agreement with IUOE Skilled Crafts Unit

On December 10, 2014, representatives of UC and IUOE Local 501 came to a tentative agreement on a successor contract covering Skilled Crafts Unit (K5) staff. The bargaining unit members ratified the agreement on December 12, 2014.

The multiyear agreement for this bargaining unit will be posted to the HR website as soon as it has been finalized by the parties. HR will provide training for those responsible for administering the contract. Questions about new provisions should be directed to Alex Najera at x2-4721.

 

Career Tracks

Career Tracks is a system-wide job classification structure initially targeted for non-represented staff employees that will be implemented at all UC locations. The Career Tracks framework aligns jobs with similar positions internally and in the external marketplace. Career Tracks supports the development of career paths that enhance career mobility and helps focus development activities for employees. For more information, you are welcome to visit the Careers Tracks website.

 

News Archive

Organizational Charts

Human Resources is responsible for managing the overall Organizational Chart process for the UCR campus. This includes providing a web location where the most up-to-date, standardized campus organizational charts can be found.  In addition, the process for submitting changes or updating Organizational Charts is provided.

Organizational Chart Change Request

If you would like to make a change or update your Organizational Chart, please visit the UCR Organizational Charts Change Request page. This page contains the information needed to assist you in processing your change request.

Campus Organizational Charts
    • Campus Organization Chart - Visio / (PDF)
    • Officers Reporting Directly to the Chancellor - Visio / (PDF)
    • Office of the Provost/Executive Vice Chancellor (P/EVC) - Visio / (PDF)
  • Bourns College of Engineering (BCOE) - Visio / (PDF)
  • Business & Administrative Services (BAS) - Visio / (PDF)
  • College of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences (CHASS) - Visio / (PDF)
  • College of Natural & Agricultural Sciences (CNAS) - Visio / (PDF)
  • Computing & Communications - Visio / (PDF)
  • Graduate Division - Visio / (PDF)
  • Graduate School of Education - Visio / (PDF)
Name Title Telephone E-Mail

Jadie Lee

Associate Vice Chancellor (951)
827-3196  
jadie.lee@ucr.edu
Kimberly
Grossmann

 

(Interim Basis)
Human Resources Assistant

(951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Benefits

Heidie Rhodes Benefits Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Veronica Luna Health Care Facilitator (951)
827-2636
veronica.luna@ucr.edu
Alisha French Senior HR Program Analyst (951) 827-1434 alisha.french@ucr.edu

Compensation & Classification

Linda Gaddie Compensation Manager (951) 827-2464 linda.gaddie@ucr.edu
Scott Biggerstaff Total Compensation Analyst (951)
827-1441

scott.biggerstaff@ucr.edu

Jennifer Poliakon Total Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4720

jennifer.poliakon@ucr.edu

Chrystelle Zimmerman Career Tracks Project Manager (951) 827-5086

chrystelle.zimmerman@ucr.edu

Disability Management

Marsha Marion Disability Management Coordinator (951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu

Employee & Labor Relations

Elizabeth Sanchez Employee & Labor Relations Director (951)
827-1414
elizabeth.sanchez@ucr.edu
Jake Hurley Pr. Employee & Labor Relations Analyst (951) 827-2847 jake.hurley@ucr.edu
Alex Najera

Pr. Employee & Labor Relations Analyst

(951) 827-4721 alex.najera@ucr.edu
Paul Wood

Employee & Labor Relations Specialist

(951) 827-5092 paul.wood@ucr.edu
Mariela Roberts Employee & Labor Relations Assistant (951)
827-3641
mariela.roberts@ucr.edu

Ergonomics

Yvonne Ybarra

Ergonomic Specialist

(951) 827-3010

yvonne.ybarra@ucr.edu

Policy, Programs & Projects

Heidie Rhodes Policy, Programs & Projects Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Jorge Sanchez Data, Program & Communications Analyst (951) 827-3195 jorge.sanchez@ucr.edu

Staff Development

Seana Nunez-Grider

Sr. Staff Development Analyst (951)
827-1442
seana.nunez@ucr.edu

Lauren Cummings

UC Learning Center Administrator (951)
827-4565
lauren.cummings@ucr.edu

Kimberly Grossmann

Human Resources Assistant (951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Staff Employment

Lorena Velasquez Staff Employment  Manager (951)
827-5640
lorena.velasquez@ucr.edu
Emma Geach Sr. Employment Analyst (951)
827-4719
emma.geach@ucr.edu
Kai Buckner Sr. Employment Analyst (951)
827-1951
kai.buckner@ucr.edu
Stephanie Davis Sr. Recruitment Analyst (951) 827-3145 stephanie.davis@ucr.edu

Wellness

Julie Chobdee Wellness Program Coordinator (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu

Work/Life

Heidie Rhodes Policy, Programs & Projects Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu

Workers' Compensation

Nini Furst Workers' Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu

Workplace Health & Wellness

Marsha Marion

Workplace Health & Wellness Manager

(951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu
Julie Chobdee Wellness Program Coordinator (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nini Furst Workers' Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu
Kathy Mosley Workplace Health & Wellness Assistant (951) 827-2336 kathy.mosley@ucr.edu

Other

Webmaster    

webmaster@fboitservice.ucr.edu

Jobs
Diversity
Employee Self Service
At Your Service
Employee Profile System
Title & Pay Plan

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1160 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521

Fax: (951) 827-2192

Footer