University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



Home


Welcome: Building Careers, Achieving Excellence





HR Monthly Digest

Formal Review/Employee Comment: Nondiscrimination and Affirmative Action Policy Regarding Academic and Staff Employment

The Office of the President is proposing a revision to the systemwide Nondiscrimination and Affirmative Action Policy regarding academic and staff employment.

The revision is intended to reflect recent amendments related to the California Fair Employment and Housing Act and the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs' Pay Transparency Rule. A redline version is available for your reference.

A clean copy of the proposed policy is posted on UCnet. Please review the proposed policy and forward any questions or comments to Mary White, at extension 2-2622 or email hrpolicy@ucr.edu by Friday, December 9, 2016.

Human Resources Earns Award for Inclusion at UCR

The California Department of Rehabilitation recognized UCR’s Human Resources for work on the inclusion of disabled employees on the UCR staff.

Marsha Marion, workplace health and wellness manager, accepted the award with colleagues at an event celebrating October as National Disability Employment Awareness Month (NDEAM). UCR Human Resources partnered with the City of Riverside and the California Department of Rehabilitation on four events. Learn more

2016-2017 Winter Holiday Closure

As in previous years, UCR plans to observe a Winter Holiday Closure during the 2016-2017 holiday season. This annual closure has allowed UCR to achieve significant energy savings and continues to be a highly effective approach to power conservation for a specific period of time.

The campus is scheduled to close beginning Saturday, December 24, 2016 through Monday, January 2, 2017 and will reopen on Tuesday, January 3, 2017. As this year’s holidays fall on weekend days, pursuant to our Holiday policy and relevant provisions of our labor agreements. Learn more.

At Your Service Online (AYSO) - Year End Closure

At the end of every calendar year, UC closes two At Your Service Online (AYSO) applications to allow local payroll offices to complete year-end health and welfare changes. This year, AYSO’s Benefits Enrollment (aka New Hire) and Current Enrollments applications will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, December 9, 2016. Learn more

New Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Rules

The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) has approved a change in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) regarding overtime eligibility. Effective December 1, 2016, the revised rule increases the minimum salary threshold for exempt employees from $455 per week (approximately $23,660 per year) to $913 per week (approximately $47,476 per year). As a result, all staff and academic personnel, including rehired retirees and part-time employees, who do not qualify for the professional teaching exemption and who earn less than $913 per week, will be designated as non-exempt and paid on an hourly basis. For a complete overview of the FLSA changes and how it will impact your paycheck click here or to access the frequently asked questions click here.

Pay Transition Timeline

  • The transition from exempt to non-exempt pay will occur on November 20, 2016, the start of the biweekly pay cycle that covers December 1, 2016
  • Exempt employees who are converted to non-exempt status will transition from monthly pay cycles to bi-weekly pay cycles
  • The biweekly conversion dates are:

Transition to Biweekly Pay

Transition Assistance

To ease the transition to biweekly pay, the University is offering a Transition Assistance Vacation Cash Out Program. Non-represented academic and staff employees will be allowed to cash out up to 80 hours of accrued vacation. The deadline to submit the application form is Thursday, November 10, 2016. Click here to download the application form. The UC Emergency Loan Program is also available for employees. For more information on the UC Emergency Loan Progam click here.

UC and Librarians’ Union Reach Tentative Agreement on Wages and Professional Development

The University of California and American Federation of Teachers (AFT) have reached tentative agreement on a “limited reopener” covering wages and professional development for the University’s more than 350 librarians.

As permitted by the current contract, the parties may opt to “reopen” two contract articles in either 2016 or 2017. The union chose to “reopen” wages and professional development, and negotiations on these two issues began in late May.  

All other issues are still covered in the current five-year contract, which expires September 30, 2018.

Under the tentative agreement, the librarians would receive a 1.5 percent wage increase for the 2016-17 year, in addition to participating in the regular academic merit program. For 2017-18, they would receive a range adjustment equivalent to what non-represented academic employees will receive.

Librarians will also see an increase in the minimum amounts allocated by campuses for professional development.

Union members are expected to vote on the tentative agreement within the next couple of weeks.

Should you have any questions, please contact Alex Najera, Employee and Labor Relations Consultant, at extension 2-4721 or via email at alex.najera@ucr.edu.

UC, UAW Reach Tentative Agreement for Postdocs

The University of California has reached tentative agreement with the United Auto Workers (UAW) on a four-year contract covering more than 6,500 postdocs including newly added postdocs at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

The agreement fairly compensates postdocs for their contributions, provides support for employees with families and is financially sound for the university.

“Since bargaining began in June, we’ve worked hard to be responsive to the union’s concerns while balancing the university’s needs,” said Dwaine B. Duckett, vice president of systemwide human resources. “We’re pleased that we’ve been able to work through the issues and reach a fair agreement.” Union members are voting on the tentative agreement this week.

Highlights of the tentative agreement are:

  • A new salary scale effective December 1, 2016 that matches the National Institute of Health (NIH) Experience Scale and begins at step 2 of the NIH scale, providing a wage increase of about 10 percent for entry-level postdocs at the lowest step of the salary scale.
  • All full-time postdocs will remain exempt employees under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
  • Annual increases, which include salary range adjustments tied to the NIH scale as well as step increases.
  • In response to postdocs’ request for more family-friendly support, postdocs will receive four weeks of paid parental leave, on top of the 24 days of personal time off that postdocs currently receive.
  • Additional appointment security for postdocs who are appointed beyond one year.
  • Better protections for postdocs who have complaints about sexual harassment.
  • A four-year contract expiring September 30, 2020 that provides postdocs and the university with certainty and stability.

The university and the union began bargaining a new contract in June 2016. The tentative agreement was reached October 5, shortly after the previous contract expired on September 30.

Union members are voting on the tentative agreement this week. 

News Archive

Organizational Charts

Human Resources is responsible for managing the overall Organizational Chart process for the UCR campus. This includes providing a web location where the most up-to-date, standardized campus organizational charts can be found.  In addition, the process for submitting changes or updating Organizational Charts is provided.

Organizational Chart Change Request

If you would like to make a change or update your Organizational Chart, please visit the UCR Organizational Charts Change Request page. This page contains the information needed to assist you in processing your change request.

Campus Organizational Charts

Name

Title

Telephone

Email

Jadie Lee

Associate Vice Chancellor (951)
827-3196  
jadie.lee@ucr.edu
Judy Abbey

Executive Assistant

(951)
827-5080
judith.abbey@ucr.edu
Isidra Martinez

Financial Analyst

(951)
827-2623
isidra.martinez@ucr.edu
Ivette Ocampo

HR Generalist

(951)
827-1403
ivette.ocampo@ucr.edu

Equal Employment & Affirmative Action

Nicole Butts Director of Equal Employment and Affirmative Action (951)
827- 2673
nicole.butts@ucr.edu
Angela Walker Administrative Assistant

(951)
827-5604

angela.walker@ucr.edu
Brittnee Meitzenheimer Equal Employment and Affirmative Action Rep (951)
827-6676
 brittnee.meitzenheimer@ucr.edu
Lorena Velasquez Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Coordinator (951)
827-6219
 lorena.velasquez@ucr.edu

Benefits

Vacant Director of Compensation and Benefits    
Tina Rodriguez Benefits Lead (951) 827-5086 tina.rodriguez@ucr.edu
Veronica Luna Benefits Analyst (951)
827-2636
veronica.luna@ucr.edu
Alisha French Benefits Analyst (951)
827-1434
alisha.french@ucr.edu
Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Total Compensation

Vacant Director of Compensation and Benefits    
Scott Biggerstaff Compensation Analyst (951)
827-1441

scott.biggerstaff@ucr.edu

Erica Criss Compensation Analyst (951)
827-3128

erica.criss@ucr.edu

Jennifer Poliakon Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4720

jennifer.poliakon@ucr.edu

Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577

kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Disability Management

Marsha Marion-Watson Disability Management Coordinator (951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu

Employee & Labor Relations

Elizabeth Sanchez Director of Employee & Labor Relations (951)
827-1414
elizabeth.sanchez@ucr.edu
Alex Najera

Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-4721
alex.najera@ucr.edu
Paul Wood

Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-5092
paul.wood@ucr.edu
Kristin Branson Employee & Labor Relations Representative (951)
827-5091
kristin.branson@ucr.edu
Mariela Roberts Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3641
mariela.roberts@ucr.edu

Ergonomics

Clyde Blackwelder

Ergonomist

(951)
827-3010

clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu

Policy & Communications

Mary White Principal HR Policy & Communication Analyst (951)
827-2622
mary.white@ucr.edu
Jorge Sanchez HR Data, Program & Communications Specialist (951)
827-3195
jorge.sanchez@ucr.edu

Employee and Organizational Development

Kimberly Allain

Director of Employee & Organizational Development (951)
827-5073
kimberly.allain@ucr.edu

Seana Nunez-Grider

Trainer (951)
827-1442
seana.nunez@ucr.edu

Michelle Elrod

Principal Learning & Development Consultant (951)
827-1399
michelle.elrod@ucr.edu

Marilyn Parker

LMS Administrator (951)
827-7395
marilyn.parker@ucr.edu

Michelle Knighton

Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-4794
michelle.knighton@ucr.edu

Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach

Quincy Kinsey Director of Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach (951)
827-3127
quincy.kinsey@ucr.edu
Kai Buckner Employment Representative (951)
827-1951
kai.buckner@ucr.edu
Stephanie Davis Employment Representative (951)
827-3145
stephanie.davis@ucr.edu
Emma Geach Employment Representative

(951)
827-3575

emma.geach@ucr.edu
Loren Bacallo Employment Representative

(951)
827-3126

loren.bacallo@ucr.edu
Paul Pena Employment Representative

(951)
827-1430

paul.pena@ucr.edu

 UCPath

Heidie Rhodes UCPath HR Implementation Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Rebecca Hutchins Principal HR Business Analyst (951)
827-2621
rebecca.hutchins@ucr.edu
Puja Pannu UCPath Communication Lead (951)
827-5076
puja.pathak@ucr.edu
Paul Pena UCPath Recruitment Coordinator (951)
827-1430
paul.pena@ucr.edu
LaKesha Welch HR Business Analyst

(951)
827-4984

lakesha.welch@ucr.edu
Loretta Vandivier Communications Specialist

(951)
827-7511

loretta.vandivier@ucr.edu
Llyle Morgan Organizational Change Manager

(951)
827-7510

llyle.morgan@ucr.edu
Cheryl Diermyer Principal Instructional Designer (951)
827-7527
cheryl.diermyer@ucr.edu
Brianda Girgus Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3563
brianda.girgus@ucr.edu

Return to Work

Shelly Frohrip Return to Work / ADA Coordinator

(951)
827-4722

shelly.frohrip@ucr.edu

Wellness

Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nicole Collins Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.collins@ucr.edu

WorkStrong

Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist (951)
827-5106
edward.marchall@ucr.edu

Workers' Compensation

Nini Furst Benefits Analyst - Workers' Compensation (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu

Workplace Health & Wellness

Marsha Marion-Watson

Workplace Health & Wellness Manager

(951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu
Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nini Furst Benefits Analyst - Workers' Compensation (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu
Clyde Blackwelder Ergonomist (951)
827-3010
clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu
Nicole Collins Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.collins@ucr.edu
Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist

(951) 
827-5106

edward.marchall@ucr.edu
Shelly Frohrip Return to Work / ADA Coordinator (951)
827-4722
shelly.frohrip@ucr.edu
Kathy Mosley Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-2336
kathy.mosley@ucr.edu

Other

Webmaster    

webmaster@fboitservice.ucr.edu

Jobs
Diversity
Employee Self Service
At Your Service
Employee Profile System
Title & Pay Plan
Image link

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1201 University Ave., Suite 208
Riverside, CA 92507

Tel: (951) 827-5588
Fax: (951) 827-2672

Footer