University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



Home


Welcome: Building Careers, Achieving Excellence

HR Monthly Digest

Employee and Labor Relations – Name and Staff Changes

The Office of Labor Relations has recently assumed responsibility for all staff employee relations activities and is now called the Employee and Labor Relations (ELR) Department. Staff of the ELR Department provide consultation and advice to managers, supervisors, and represented and nonrepresented employees in developing and implementing solutions to organizational needs, including:

  • Conflict management
  • Performance management/counseling
  • Corrective actions
  • Separation actions – including dismissals, releases during probation, layoffs, and separations of employees for medical reasons
  • Administration and interpretation of collective bargaining agreements and relevant personnel policies
  • Representing management in employee disputes/grievance proceedings
  • Mediating/negotiating resolution of complaints with employees and their representatives, where applicable
  • Providing supervisory/leadership training and development
  • Administering the unemployment insurance program
  • Responding to union information requests

ELR recently added Alex Najera to our staff. He will provide ELR support to the campus' non-academic organizational units and can be reached at x2-4721.

Bargaining Bulletin: UC Reaches Agreement with UAW Academic Student Employees Unit

On June 3, 2014, after many months of negotiations, representatives of UC and UAW came to a tentative agreement on a successor contract covering Academic Student Employees (BX) staff. The bargaining unit members ratified the agreement on June 21, 2014.

The multi-year agreement for this bargaining unit will be posted to the HR website as soon as it has been finalized by the parties. HR conducted training for those responsible for administering the contract. Questions about new provisions should be directed to Jake Hurley at x2-2847

Bargaining Bulleting: UC Reaches Agreement with UC-AFT (Non-Senate Faculty) on Retiree Healthcare Reopener

On June 23, 2014, representatives of UC and UC-AFT came to a tentative agreement on reopener negotiations regarding retiree healthcare covering Non Senate Faculty (IX) staff. The bargaining unit members ratified the agreement on July 18, 2014.

Under the agreement lecturers who were members of the bargaining unit before July 1, 2013 will follow the same eligibility rules for retiree healthcare as their non-represented colleagues hired before that date. Those joining or rejoining the bargaining unit on or after July 1, 2013, will follow a modified set of eligibility rules. Questions about this agreement should be directed to Jake Hurley at x2-2847

Staff Education and Development is now accepting applications for the 2014-15 Building Core Supervisory Competencies Program!

The program is specifically designed for employees with one to two years of supervisory experience who want to develop a broad range of skills that can enhance their performance in carrying out supervisory duties. The program focuses on critical competencies such as communications, human resources management, risk management, and a comprehensive offering of electives which provide instruction in other management areas. For more program details, including program cost and application, please visit our Certificate Programs page.

UC Simplifies Retiree Health Benefits Rules

To simplify administration and respond to employee concerns, UC is changing the eligibility rules for retiree health benefits. Policy-covered employees eligible for UCRP on June 30, 2013, will be subject to the eligibility rules that were in place as of that date. This means that those employees who previously had been moved to the new 2013 eligibility rules because they were not vested in UCRP on June 30, 2013 or because their age plus years of UCRP service was less than 50 at that time will no longer be subject to the eligibility rules that went into effect on July 1, 2013.

Read more

Pre-Retirement Counseling and Financial Planning

Theron Lyon, CFP, has temporarily returned to the Human Resources Division to provide consultation to faculty and staff. Theron retired in 2013 and was formerly the UC Riverside Benefits Manager/Financial Planner.  He has over 26 years of experience with the UC Retirement Plan and UC Retirement Savings Program. Theron will be available to those faculty and staff interested in receiving individual pre-retirement counseling and financial planning. Please contact him at theron.lyon@ucr.edu or extension 2-5084 to schedule an appointment.

Retirement services including estimates, retirement profiles, and elections will continue to be processed through UC’s Retirement Administration Service Center (RASC) in Oakland. Please contact them at (800) 888-8267 Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. or through the online service form.

News Archive

Name Title Telephone E-Mail

Jadie Lee

Associate Vice Chancellor (951)
827-3196
jadie.lee@ucr.edu

Felecia Wilson

Executive Specialist (951)
827-5080
felecia.wilson@ucr.edu

Benefits

Heidie Rhodes Benefits Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Veronica Luna Health Care Facilitator (951)
827-2636
veronica.luna@ucr.edu
Alisha French Senior HR Program Analyst (951) 827-1434 alisha.french@ucr.edu

Compensation & Classification

Linda Gaddie Compensation Manager (951) 827-2464 linda.gaddie@ucr.edu
Scott Biggerstaff Total Compensation Analyst (951)
827-1441

scott.biggerstaff@ucr.edu

Jennifer Poliakon Total Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4720

jennifer.poliakon@ucr.edu

Chrystelle Zimmerman Career Tracks Project Manager (951) 827-5086

chrystelle.zimmerman@ucr.edu

Disability Management

Marsha Marion Disability Management Coordinator (951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu

Employee & Labor Relations

Elizabeth Sanchez Employee & Labor Relations Director (951)
827-1414
elizabeth.sanchez@ucr.edu
Jake Hurley Pr. Employee & Labor Relations Analyst (951) 827-2847 jake.hurley@ucr.edu
Alex Najera

Pr. Employee & Labor Relations Analyst

(951) 827-4721 alex.najera@ucr.edu
Paul Wood

Employee & Labor Relations Specialist

(951) 827-5092 paul.wood@ucr.edu
Mariela Roberts Employee & Labor Relations Assistant (951)
827-3641
mariela.roberts@ucr.edu

Policy, Programs & Projects

Heidie Rhodes Policy, Programs & Projects Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Marilyn Parker Communications Specialist (951)
827-3195
marilyn.parker@ucr.edu

Staff Employment & Development

Lorena Velasquez Staff Employment  Manager (951)
827-5640
lorena.velasquez@ucr.edu
Seana Nunez-Grider Sr. Staff Development Analyst (951)
827-1442
seana.nunez@ucr.edu
Emma Geach Sr. Employment Analyst (951)
827-4719
emma.geach@ucr.edu
Kai Buckner Sr. Employment Analyst (951)
827-1951
kai.buckner@ucr.edu
Stephanie Davis Sr. Recruitment Analyst (951) 827-3145 stephanie.davis@ucr.edu
Nancy Terry UC Learning Center Administrator (951)
827-4722
nancy.terry@ucr.edu
Lauren Cummings UC Learning Center Administrator (951)
827-4565
 lauren.cummings@ucr.edu
Kimberly Grossmann Human Resources Assistant (951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Wellness

Julie Chobdee Wellness Program Coordinator (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu

Work/Life

Heidie Rhodes Policy, Programs & Projects Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu

Workers' Compensation

Nini Furst Workers' Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu

Workplace Health & Wellness

Marsha Marion

Workplace Health & Wellness Manager

(951)
827-4785
marsha.marion@ucr.edu
Julie Chobdee Wellness Program Coordinator (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nini Furst Workers' Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4207
nini.furst@ucr.edu
Kathy Mosley Workplace Health & Wellness Assistant (951) 827-2336 kathy.mosley@ucr.edu

Other

Webmaster    

webmaster@fboitservice.ucr.edu

Jobs
Diversity
Employee Self Service
At Your Service
Employee Profile System
Title & Pay Plan

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1160 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521

Fax: (951) 827-2192

Footer