University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



Home


Welcome: Building Careers, Achieving Excellence






HR Monthly Digest

Technical Revisions to Presidential Policy: Discrimination, Harassment and Affirmative Action in the Workplace

The University of California, Office of the President revised the Presidential Policy on Discrimination, Harassment and Affirmative Action in the Workplace. The policy was issued as a technical update only, to issue the legal updates in the policy to ensure that the University is in compliance.

The revised policy includes technical changes related to:

  • New requirements under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) 
  • New Pay Transparency Rules from the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)

A copy of the revised policy is available on UCR's Human Resources and UCnet's websites

University Village - Parking Policy Change

Effective March 1, 2018, UCR employees will no longer be permitted to park at University Village unless they park in UCR Lot 60 with a valid Red or Blue UCR Parking Permit. 

However, designated CAS/A&E employees and UCR vehicles will be able to park in the seven reserved CAS/A&E parking spaces in front of Building B.  Please note, University Village will also be making changes to these seven reserved CAS/A&E spaces, signs will go up on two of the seven spaces reserving the spaces exclusively for CAS/A&E service vehicles.  The spaces will be monitored by TAPS, if a non-service vehicle is parked in those spaces they will be ticketed.

Visitors to UCR suites will still be permitted to park for up to 2 ½ hours with a validated pink ticket.  To accommodate visitors that will be attending workshops, or other meetings that last longer than 2 ½ hours, departments will need to arrange for a UCR visitor permit from TAPS and instruct their visitors to park in Lot 50 across the street.

Formal Review/Employee Comment - Proposed Revisions to the Presidential Policy on Supplement to Military Pay

The University of California, Office of the President is proposing revisions to the Presidential Policy on Supplement to Military, which applies to all academic and staff employees. 

Revisions to the policy will include the following:

  • Additions/update of existing language including definitions, compensation, duration and procedures.
  • Clarification of existing benefits language.

A clean and redline version of the proposed policy is available on the UCnet website at: http://www.ucop.edu/academic-personnel-programs/academic-personnel-policy/policies-under-review/uc-military-pay-policy.html

Academic and staff employees covered by this policy who wish to provide comments on the proposed revisions may contact Mary White at extension 2-2622 or send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu by Friday, May 4, 2018. 

Announcing the New Performance Management Process - Version 2.0

Human Resources (HR) has developed a new performance management process - version 2.0. This new version addresses the concerns and suggestions that were expressed by the campus. 

The new version 2.0:

  • Introduces a revised and simplified Performance Appraisal form. Clear, step-by-step directions for each section of the process now appear on the form;
  • Streamlines each of the seven (7) performance factors and makes them more inclusive of other working environments;
  • Reduces the number of supervisory performance factors from four (4) to three (3).

Click here to read the campus announcement. For more information on the new performance management process, visit the HR Performance Management website.

Taxability of Moving Expense Reimbursement - Effective January 1, 2018

The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (P.L. 115-97) impacts the taxability of moving expense reimbursements provided by an employer. Effective January 1, 2018, reimbursements for moving expenses made to employees or paid directly to third parties by the University may be included in wage income subject to federal income tax withholding and FICA. 

For more information, view the UC Office of the President Memo. For more information on the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, please click here

Taxability of Certain Employee Achievement Awards - Effective January 1, 2018

The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (P.L. 115-97) impacts the taxability of certain types of employee achievement awards provided by an employer. Effective January 1, 2018, gift cards are excluded from the definition of tangible personal property, therefore the value of gift cards provided by the University to an employee for an employee achievement may be considered taxable wage income. 

For more information, view the UC Office of the President Memo. For more information on the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, please click here.

Never Too Young to Plan for Retirement

UCR's Human Resources Benefits team has planned several retirement planning workshops to help UCR faculty and staff plan for a successful retirement. Learn how to maximize your Social Security retirement strategy and the fundamentals of retirement and income planning. The workshops are open and available to all faculty and staff, regardless of age or how long they’ve been employed at UCR. For more information, please view the article in Inside UCR.

Communicating HR Policy Changes

In accordance with UCR Campus Policy Number: 350-11, effective January 23, 2018  HR will utilize the Daily Digest to communicate proposed new policies and changes to existing  University of California, Office of the President (UCOP) and University of California, Riverside (UCR) policies. Proposed and actual changes will also be posted on the Human Resources (HR) website under "What's New?" at: hr.ucr.edu.

Click here for a list of the UC Policies and UCR Local Procedures on the HR website.

Staff Review and Comment Period - Proposed UCR Policy: Consensual Intimate (Sexual or Romantic) Relationships in the Workplace

The campus has proposed a campuswide “Consensual Intimate (Sexual or Romantic) Relationships in the Workplace” policy. The proposed policy addresses romantic relationships and/or sexual interactions that, although consensual, may create actual and perceived conflicts of interests, and create the possibility for exploitation or favoritism.

Employees covered by this proposed policy who wish to provide comments may contact Mary White at extension 2-2622 or send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu by Thursday, February 8, 2018.

Formal Review/Employee Comment - Proposed Revisions to PPSM-30: Compensation

The University of California, Office of the President is proposing revisions to Personnel Policy for Staff Members (PPSM) – 30: Compensation, which applies to staff employees in the Professional & Support Staff (PSS) and Managers & Senior Professionals (MSP) personnel groups.

To ensure consistent pay practices, language has been added to the Procedures section affirming that, as locations transition to UC Path, General and Merit Increases based on a percentage increase will be rounded up.

A clean and redline version of the proposed policy is available on the UCnet website at:http://ucnet.universityofcalifornia.edu/tools-and-services/administrators/policies/proposed/ppsm-30.html.

Employees covered by this policy who wish to provide comments on the proposed revisions may contact Mary White at extension 2-2622 or send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu by Tuesday, February 20, 2018. 

Staff Engagement Survey Forum

UCR Human Resources and the UCR Staff Assembly sponsored the UC Staff Engagement Survey Forum. This forum discussed the campus engagement survey results; including discussion of what is working well on campus and development of strategies to address areas where we have opportunities for improvement.

To view the 2017 UC - CUSCA Staff Engagement Survey results, please click here.

Health Net – HealthCare Partners IPA North Riverside added to network

HealthCare Partners IPA North Riverside (PPG # 3749) has been added to the Health Net Blue & Gold network as of January 1, 2018. This is HCP’s first expansion into Riverside County; they are primarily in LA and Orange counties. For more information, please visit HR Benefits "What's New".

New California Law AB 168 Prohibits Salary History Inquiries

On October 12, 2017, Governor Brown signed into law AB-168 a state-wide ban on employer inquiries into an applicant's salary history. The legislation, which became effective on January 1, 2018, is intended to address inequity in pay practices based on gender and other protected class designations such as race, age and disability. The regulations include the following:

  • Prohibit an employer from relying on salary history information of an applicant for employment as a factor in determining whether to offer employment to an applicant or what salary to offer an applicant.
  • Prohibit an employer orally or in writing, personally or through an agent, from seeking salary history information, including compensation and benefits, about an applicant for employment.
  • An employer must provide the pay scale for a position to an applicant applying for employment upon reasonable request.

The University of California adjusted policies and practices to fully implement the changes. For more information on AB-168 click here.

Updated PPSM-21: Selection and Appointment Policy

The Personnel Policies for Staff Members (PPSM)-21: Selection and Appointment policy has been updated to bring the university into compliance with California Assembly Bill 1008.

The updated policy includes additional language regarding the notice of the preliminary decision provided to a candidate if the conviction history disqualifies the candidate from employment. The policy is available on the HR Personnel Policies and Local Procedures website page for you to use as a source of information. If you have questions regarding PPSM-21, please send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu.

Emergency support from UC's benefit plans

Systemwide Human Resources is working with UC’s benefits partners to ensure their commitment to meeting the needs of faculty and staff affected by the wildfires in Southern California.

Information regarding support and resources is available on UCnet/News. You will be able to learn about accessing your retirements savings for emergency expenses; replacing lost prescriptions; seeking medical, dental or vision care; emotional health support; claims for loss of life or property; disability and contact information for UC plans.

New Mentoring Program Targets Student Success

A group of black staff and faculty, including members of the UCR Human Resources Leadership team, have launched a grassroots mentoring program focused on student retention and continued support of graduation rates within the black student population. For more information about this program, please read the story in Inside UCR.

Protecting your Personal Information Online

Systemwide Human Resources (HR) has received reports from several UC retirees and employees of attempted identity theft and Social Security fraud. There have been several cases where retirees and employees have received letters from the Social Security Administration (SSA) about online applications for retirement benefits that they had not filed. For more information, visit UCnet/News.

ARAG Legal Insurance: Free Access to DIY Docs and More

In support of UC faculty and staff who may be impacted by the California wildfires, ARAG is offering free access to ARAG DIY Docs, the Education Center and the Find an Attorney tool. This means that all impacted faculty and staff - even those not currently enrolled - will have free access for six months. 

To enroll, eligible employees should visit ARAG Legal Center and enter access code 18323cfr; the deadline to enroll is January 11, 2018. For additional information regarding how to address legal concerns during and after a disaster read these six tips for dealing with a disaster.

Frequently Asked Questions for University Employees and Students About Possible Federal Immigration Enforcement Actions on UCR Property

Charles F. Robinson, General Counsel and Vice President of Legal Affairs at the University of California, has issued the FAQs for members of the University of California community, who are concerned about immigration enforcement actions occurring across the country and have asked about the possibility that enforcement actions could occur at UC. This document responds to frequently asked questions and provides information about how to respond in such a situation.  Learn more

News Archive

Organizational Charts

Human Resources is responsible for managing the overall Organizational Chart process for the UCR campus. This includes providing a web location where the most up-to-date, standardized campus organizational charts can be found.  In addition, the process for submitting changes or updating Organizational Charts is provided.

Organizational Chart Change Request

If you would like to make a change or update your Organizational Chart, please visit the UCR Organizational Charts Change Request page. This page contains the information needed to assist you in processing your change request.

Campus Organizational Charts

Name

Title

Telephone

Email

Jadie Lee

Associate Vice Chancellor (951)
827-3196  
jadie.lee@ucr.edu
Judy Abbey

Executive Assistant

(951)
827-5080
judith.abbey@ucr.edu
Ivette Ocampo

HR Generalist

(951)
827-1403
ivette.ocampo@ucr.edu

Equal Employment & Affirmative Action

Nicole Butts Director of Equal Employment and Affirmative Action (951)
827-2673
nicole.butts@ucr.edu
Angela Walker Administrative Assistant

(951)
827-5604

angela.walker@ucr.edu
Vacant Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Compliance Specialist    
Tina Curry Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Compliance Specialist

(951)
827-5276

tina.curry@ucr.edu
Olga Snopok Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Data Analyst

(951)
827-7431

olga.snopok@ucr.edu

Benefits

John-Stephen Henderson Director of Compensation and Benefits (951)
827-2256
john.henderson@ucr.edu
Tina Rodriguez Benefits Lead (951)
827-5086
tina.rodriguez@ucr.edu
Ranada Palmer Health Care Facilitator (951)
827-2636
 ranada.palmer@ucr.edu
Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Total Compensation

John-Stephen Henderson Director of Compensation and Benefits (951)
827-2256
  john.henderson@ucr.edu
Scott Biggerstaff Compensation Analyst (951)
827-1441

scott.biggerstaff@ucr.edu

Deborah Page Compensation Analyst (951) 827-3128

deborah.page@ucr.edu

Jennifer Poliakon Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4720

jennifer.poliakon@ucr.edu

Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577

kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Disability Management

Demetrius Patrick Disability Management Coordinator (951)
827-2561
demetrius.patrick@ucr.edu

Employee & Labor Relations

Alex Najera

Interim Director of Employee & Labor Relations

(951)
827-4721
alex.najera@ucr.edu
Paul Wood

Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-5092
paul.wood@ucr.edu
Kristin Branson Employee & Labor Relations Representative (951)
827-5091
kristin.branson@ucr.edu
Patricia Steet Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-5272

patricia.steet@ucr.edu
Lisa Dye Employee & Labor Relations Representative (951)
827-4998
lisa.dye@ucr.edu
Mariela Bridges Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3641
mariela.bridges@ucr.edu

Ergonomics

Clyde Blackwelder

Ergonomist

(951)
827-3010

clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu

Policy & Communications

Mary White Principal HR Policy & Communication Analyst (951)
827-2622
mary.white@ucr.edu
Jorge Sanchez HR Data, Program & Communications Specialist (951)
827-3195
jorge.sanchez@ucr.edu

Employee and Organizational Development

Kimberly Allain

Director of Employee & Organizational Development (951)
827-5073
kimberly.allain@ucr.edu

Seana Nunez-Grider

Trainer (951)
827-1442
seana.nunez@ucr.edu

Michelle Elrod

Principal Learning & Development Consultant (951)
827-1399
michelle.elrod@ucr.edu

Marilyn Parker

LMS Administrator (951)
827-7395
marilyn.parker@ucr.edu

Vacant

Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-4794
 

Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach

Quincy Kinsey Director of Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach (951)
827-3127
quincy.kinsey@ucr.edu
Stephanie Davis Employment Representative (951)
827-3145
stephanie.davis@ucr.edu
Emma Geach Employment Representative

(951)
827-3575

emma.geach@ucr.edu
Paul Pena Employment Representative

(951)
827-1430

paul.pena@ucr.edu

 UCPath

Heidie Rhodes UCPath HR Implementation Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Rebecca Hutchins HR Project Lead (951)
827-2621
rebecca.hutchins@ucr.edu
Puja Pannu UCPath Communication Lead (951)
827-5076
puja.pathak@ucr.edu
Paul Pena UCPath Recruitment Coordinator (951)
827-1430
paul.pena@ucr.edu
Loretta Vandivier Communications Specialist

(951)
827-7511

loretta.vandivier@ucr.edu
Lora Lopez Organizational Change Liaison

(951)
827-7529

lora.lopez@ucr.edu
Dora Rubio Financial Process Trainer

(951)
827-7509

dora.rubio@ucr.edu
Shannon Minter Principal HR Business Analyst

(951)
827-2620

shannon.minter@ucr.edu
Angelique Juarez UCPath eLearning Training Developer

(951)
827-7508

angelique.juarez@ucr.edu
Kathleen Cool UCPath Principal Trainer

(951)
827-7528

kathleen.cool@ucr.edu
Nohemy Perez UCPath Principal HR Business Analyst

(951)
827-4984

nohemy.perez@ucr.edu
Lorena Velasquez UCPath SME

(951)
827-7507

lorena.velasquez@ucr.edu
Shannon Henderson Administrative Assistant

(951) 827-3563

shannon.henderson@ucr.edu

Return to Work

Veronica Luna Return to Work / ADA Coordinator

(951)
827-4722

 veronica.luna@ucr.edu

Wellness

Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nicole Vargas Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.vargas@ucr.edu

WorkStrong

Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist (951)
827-5106
edward.marchall@ucr.edu

Workplace Health & Wellness

Demetrius Patrick Workplace Health & Wellness Manager (951)
827-2561
demetrius.patrick@ucr.edu
Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Clyde Blackwelder Ergonomist (951)
827-3010
clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu
Nicole Collins Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.collins@ucr.edu
Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist

(951) 
827-5106

edward.marchall@ucr.edu
Veronica Luna Return to Work/ADA Coordinator (951)
827-4722
veronica.luna@ucr.edu
Kathy Mosley Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-2336
kathy.mosley@ucr.edu

Other

Webmaster    

webmaster@fboitservice.ucr.edu

Jobs
Diversity
Employee Self Service
At Your Service
Employee Profile System
Title & Pay Plan
Image link

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1201 University Ave., Suite 208
Riverside, CA 92507

Tel: (951) 827-5588
Fax: (951) 827-2672

Footer