University of California, Riverside

Human Resources



Home


Welcome: Building Careers, Achieving Excellence






HR Monthly Digest

UCPath HR TeamUC President Napolitano Celebrated the Launch of FOM|UCPath at UC Riverside

UC President Janet Napolitano joined UC Riverside on March 29 in celebrating its successful launch of UCPath, a campus pilot that in time will become a one-stop, systemwide solution for payroll, academic personnel, timekeeping and human resources. The six-week production “cutover” process began during the Thanksgiving 2017 holiday period and concluded with UCPath access becoming available for all UCR employees on January 2, 2018. For more information, please view the Inside UCR article.

Revisions to Policy G-41: Employee Non-Cash Awards and Other Gifts and Policy G-13: Moving and Relocation

To further align with the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (P.L. 115-97) that was signed into law on December 22, 2017, the UC Policy Office issued revisions to Policy BFB G-41: Employee Non-Cash Awards and Policy BFB G-13: Moving and Relocation.

For more information about the policy revisions, send your questions to epayfeedback@ucr.edu

Rescission of Two Financial Accounting Policies

The University of California, Office of the President rescinded Financial Accounting Policies BFB-BUS-34 Securing the Services of Independent Consultants, and BFB-BUS-77 Independent Contractor Guidelines. All the relevant and applicable procurement languages from these two policies have been incorporated into the recently revised BFB-BUS-43 Purchases of Goods and Services, Supply Chain Management.

IRS rules regarding the classification of an employee versus an independent contractor formerly contained in BUS-77 is retained, revised, and included as Exhibits in the newly adopted Independent Contractor Guidelines that address federal tax compliance only.

New California Law AB 168 Prohibits Salary History Inquiries

On October 12, 2017, Governor Brown signed into law AB-168 a state-wide ban on employer inquiries into an applicant's salary history. The legislation, which became effective on January 1, 2018, is intended to address inequity in pay practices based on gender and other protected class designations such as race, age and disability. The regulations include the following:

  • Prohibit an employer from relying on salary history information of an applicant for employment as a factor in determining whether to offer employment to an applicant or what salary to offer an applicant.
  • Prohibit an employer orally or in writing, personally or through an agent, from seeking salary history information, including compensation and benefits, about an applicant for employment.
  • An employer must provide the pay scale for a position to an applicant applying for employment upon reasonable request.
How does this new law affect UC?
  • At UCR, questions regarding prior salary have been removed from the employment history section of the employment application in iRecruit. 
  • Salary history will also be suppressed on applications completed prior to December 29, 2017 however, if that historical data is needed for audit purposes, it will be retrievable by Information Technology Solutions (ITS). 
  • Please modify any pre-screening or interview documents you are currently using which contain any questions regarding an applicant’s salary history (including benefits and other compensation) by removing the question(s) or change to inquire about the applicant’s desired salary: “What are your salary expectations for this position?”.

While AB 168 does not apply to applicants whose pay history may be publicly available under federal or state law through, for example California’s Public Records Act or the federal Freedom of Information Act, employers are prohibited from relying solely on prior salary information to justify any disparity in compensation.

How should pay be determined in the absence of prior salary information?

Determining where an applicant should fall within the salary range should be based on their education and experience beyond the minimum qualifications for the role as well as the candidate’s skills, knowledge and abilities to perform the essential functions of the job.  These can be obtained by utilizing behavioral interview questions to ensure that candidates possess the knowledge, skills and abilities to successfully carry out the responsibilities of the position.

For assistance in developing behavioral interview questions, please contact your Talent Acquisition Representative in Central Human Resources.  Once a candidate has been selected for hire, offers can be formulated utilizing the guidance contained in UCR Local Procedure for PPSM 30 and the associated Compensation Calculator.  For additional guidance you may also reach out to your assigned Total Compensation consultant in Central Human Resources.     

If you have questions, please contact Quincy Kinsey, Director of Talent Acquisition at (951) 827-3127 or by email at quincy.kinsey@ucr.edu.

Assembly Bill 168 - UC Updates - February 2018

In support of the University's decision to comply with Assembly Bill 168 (AB 168) as it pertains to staff hiring, Systemwide HR published guidance and information about the law as well as an implementation toolkit on the Systemwide HR webpage. The updates apply to SMG, MSP, PSS, Union and Non-Union staff. For a list of resources or additional information, visit the Systemwide HR webpage.

The University of California adjusted policies and practices to fully implement the changes. For more information on AB-168 click here.

Technical Revisions to Presidential Policy: Discrimination, Harassment and Affirmative Action in the Workplace

The University of California, Office of the President revised the Presidential Policy on Discrimination, Harassment and Affirmative Action in the Workplace. The policy was issued as a technical update only, to issue the legal updates in the policy to ensure that the University is in compliance.

The revised policy includes technical changes related to:

  • New requirements under the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) 
  • New Pay Transparency Rules from the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP)

A copy of the revised policy is available on UCR's Human Resources and UCnet's websites

Formal Review/Employee Comment - Proposed Revisions to the Presidential Policy on Supplement to Military Pay

The University of California, Office of the President is proposing revisions to the Presidential Policy on Supplement to Military, which applies to all academic and staff employees. 

Revisions to the policy will include the following:

  • Additions/update of existing language including definitions, compensation, duration and procedures.
  • Clarification of existing benefits language.

A clean and redline version of the proposed policy is available on the UCnet website at: http://www.ucop.edu/academic-personnel-programs/academic-personnel-policy/policies-under-review/uc-military-pay-policy.html

Academic and staff employees covered by this policy who wish to provide comments on the proposed revisions may contact Mary White at extension 2-2622 or send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu by Friday, May 4, 2018. 

Announcing the New Performance Management Process - Version 2.0

Human Resources (HR) has developed a new performance management process - version 2.0. This new version addresses the concerns and suggestions that were expressed by the campus. 

The new version 2.0:

  • Introduces a revised and simplified Performance Appraisal form. Clear, step-by-step directions for each section of the process now appear on the form;
  • Streamlines each of the seven (7) performance factors and makes them more inclusive of other working environments;
  • Reduces the number of supervisory performance factors from four (4) to three (3).

Click here to read the campus announcement. For more information on the new performance management process, visit the HR Performance Management website.

Updated PPSM-21: Selection and Appointment Policy

The Personnel Policies for Staff Members (PPSM)-21: Selection and Appointment policy has been updated to bring the university into compliance with California Assembly Bill 1008.

The updated policy includes additional language regarding the notice of the preliminary decision provided to a candidate if the conviction history disqualifies the candidate from employment. The policy is available on the HR Personnel Policies and Local Procedures website page for you to use as a source of information. If you have questions regarding PPSM-21, please send an email to hrpolicy@ucr.edu.

New Mentoring Program Targets Student Success

A group of black staff and faculty, including members of the UCR Human Resources Leadership team, have launched a grassroots mentoring program focused on student retention and continued support of graduation rates within the black student population. For more information about this program, please read the story in Inside UCR.

Frequently Asked Questions for University Employees and Students About Possible Federal Immigration Enforcement Actions on UCR Property

Charles F. Robinson, General Counsel and Vice President of Legal Affairs at the University of California, has issued the FAQs for members of the University of California community, who are concerned about immigration enforcement actions occurring across the country and have asked about the possibility that enforcement actions could occur at UC. This document responds to frequently asked questions and provides information about how to respond in such a situation.  Learn more

News Archive

Organizational Charts

Human Resources is responsible for managing the overall Organizational Chart process for the UCR campus. This includes providing a web location where the most up-to-date, standardized campus organizational charts can be found.  In addition, the process for submitting changes or updating Organizational Charts is provided.

Organizational Chart Change Request

If you would like to make a change or update your Organizational Chart, please visit the UCR Organizational Charts Change Request page. This page contains the information needed to assist you in processing your change request.

Campus Organizational Charts

Name

Title

Telephone

Email

Jadie Lee

Associate Vice Chancellor (951)
827-3196  
jadie.lee@ucr.edu
Judy Abbey

Executive Assistant

(951)
827-5080
judith.abbey@ucr.edu
Ivette Ocampo

HR Generalist

(951)
827-1403
ivette.ocampo@ucr.edu

Equal Employment & Affirmative Action

Nicole Butts Director of Equal Employment and Affirmative Action (951)
827-2673
nicole.butts@ucr.edu
Angela Walker Administrative Assistant

(951)
827-5604

angela.walker@ucr.edu
Vacant Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Compliance Specialist    
Vacant Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Compliance Specialist

 

 
Olga Snopok Equal Employment & Affirmative Action Data Analyst

(951)
827-7431

olga.snopok@ucr.edu

Benefits

John-Stephen Henderson Director of Compensation and Benefits (951)
827-2256
john.henderson@ucr.edu
Tina Rodriguez Benefits Lead (951)
827-5086
tina.rodriguez@ucr.edu
Ranada Palmer Health Care Facilitator (951)
827-2636
ranada.palmer@ucr.edu
Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577
kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Total Compensation

John-Stephen Henderson Director of Compensation and Benefits (951)
827-2256
  john.henderson@ucr.edu
Scott Biggerstaff Compensation Analyst (951)
827-1441

scott.biggerstaff@ucr.edu

Deborah Page Compensation Analyst (951) 827-3128

deborah.page@ucr.edu

Jennifer Poliakon Compensation Analyst (951)
827-4720

jennifer.poliakon@ucr.edu

Kimberly Grossmann Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3577

kimberly.grossmann@ucr.edu

Disability Management

Demetrius Patrick Disability Management Coordinator (951)
827-2561
demetrius.patrick@ucr.edu

Employee & Labor Relations

Alex Najera

Director of Employee & Labor Relations

(951)
827-4721
alex.najera@ucr.edu
Paul Wood

Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-5092
paul.wood@ucr.edu
Kristin Branson Employee & Labor Relations Representative (951)
827-5091
kristin.branson@ucr.edu
Patricia Steet Employee & Labor Relations Representative

(951)
827-5272

patricia.steet@ucr.edu
Lisa Dye Employee & Labor Relations Representative (951)
827-4998
lisa.dye@ucr.edu
Mariela Bridges Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-3641
mariela.bridges@ucr.edu

Ergonomics

Clyde Blackwelder

Ergonomist

(951)
827-3010

clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu

Policy & Communications

Mary White Principal HR Policy & Communication Analyst (951)
827-2622
mary.white@ucr.edu
Jorge Sanchez HR Data, Program & Communications Specialist (951)
827-3195
jorge.sanchez@ucr.edu

Employee and Organizational Development

Kimberly Allain

Director of Employee & Organizational Development (951)
827-5073
kimberly.allain@ucr.edu

Seana Nunez-Grider

Trainer (951)
827-1442
seana.nunez@ucr.edu

Michelle Elrod

Principal Learning & Development Consultant (951)
827-1399
michelle.elrod@ucr.edu

Marilyn Parker

LMS Administrator (951)
827-7395
marilyn.parker@ucr.edu

Yvonne Yanes

Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-4794
 yvonne.yanes@ucr.edu

Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach

Quincy Kinsey Director of Talent Acquisition & Diversity Outreach (951)
827-3127
quincy.kinsey@ucr.edu
Stephanie Davis Employment Representative (951)
827-3145
stephanie.davis@ucr.edu
Emma Geach Employment Representative

(951)
827-3575

emma.geach@ucr.edu
Paul Pena Employment Representative

(951)
827-1430

paul.pena@ucr.edu

 UCPath

Heidie Rhodes UCPath HR Implementation Manager (951)
827-2463
heidie.rhodes@ucr.edu
Rebecca Hutchins HR Project Lead (951)
827-2621
rebecca.hutchins@ucr.edu
Puja Pannu UCPath Communication Lead (951)
827-5076
puja.pathak@ucr.edu
Paul Pena UCPath Recruitment Coordinator (951)
827-1430
paul.pena@ucr.edu
Loretta Vandivier Communications Specialist

(951)
827-7511

loretta.vandivier@ucr.edu
Lora Lopez Organizational Change Liaison

(951)
827-7529

lora.lopez@ucr.edu
Dora Rubio Financial Process Trainer

(951)
827-7509

dora.rubio@ucr.edu
Shannon Minter Principal HR Business Analyst

(951)
827-2620

shannon.minter@ucr.edu
Angelique Juarez UCPath eLearning Training Developer

(951)
827-7508

angelique.juarez@ucr.edu
Kathleen Cool UCPath Principal Trainer

(951)
827-7528

kathleen.cool@ucr.edu
Nohemy Perez UCPath Principal HR Business Analyst

(951)
827-4984

nohemy.perez@ucr.edu
Lorena Velasquez UCPath SME

(951)
827-7507

lorena.velasquez@ucr.edu
Shannon Henderson Administrative Assistant

(951) 827-3563

shannon.henderson@ucr.edu

Return to Work

Veronica Luna Return to Work Coordinator

(951)
827-4722

 veronica.luna@ucr.edu

Wellness

Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Nicole Vargas Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.vargas@ucr.edu

WorkStrong

Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist (951)
827-5106
edward.marchall@ucr.edu

Workplace Health & Wellness

Demetrius Patrick Workplace Health & Wellness Manager (951)
827-2561
demetrius.patrick@ucr.edu
Julie Chobdee Benefits Analyst - Wellness (951)
827-1488
julie.chobdee@ucr.edu
Clyde Blackwelder Ergonomist (951)
827-3010
clyde.blackwelder@ucr.edu
Nicole Collins Wellness Program Specialist (951)
827-5082
nicole.collins@ucr.edu
Ed Marchall Occupational Wellness Specialist

(951) 
827-5106

edward.marchall@ucr.edu
Veronica Luna Return to Work Coordinator (951)
827-4722
veronica.luna@ucr.edu
Kathy Mosley Administrative Assistant Confidential (951)
827-2336
kathy.mosley@ucr.edu

Other

Webmaster    

webmaster@fboitservice.ucr.edu

Jobs
Diversity
Employee Self Service
At Your Service
Employee Profile System
Title & Pay Plan
Image link

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

UCR LibrariesCampus Status
Career OpportunitiesDiversity
Visit UCRMaps and Directions

Department Information

Human Resources
1201 University Ave., Suite 208
Riverside, CA 92507

Tel: (951) 827-5588
Fax: (951) 827-2672

Footer